The Electronic Frontier Foundation has begun accepting nominations for its 20th Annual Pioneer Awards, which recognise those who have "contributed substantially to the health, growth, accessibility or freedom of computer-based communications."

Past winners have included World Wide Web inventor Tim Berners-Lee, Ethernet inventor Robert Metcalfe, Linux icon Linus Torvalds and security expert Bruce Schneier.

Nominations are due no later than midnight pacific time on October 17. A ceremony will be held to celebrate the winners on November 15. 

The EFF, a non-profit  founded in 1990, is focused on protecting digital rights. Of late, it has been involved in everything from inspecting an encryption tool for Adium and Pidgin IM clients to speaking out against an Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development policy that put pressure on ISPs to police their networks.